alumni personalities

Verbunden bleiben

Successfully connected to the TU for life

It is exciting to see how many figures of distinction TU Darmstadt has produced and continues to do so. They have made groundbreaking contributions to science and research, taken on significant political positions, had an impressive career in business or achieved fame in some other way. Here is a small selection:


Click on the images in order to switch between different items

Mehr erfahren Mehr erfahren Mehr erfahren Mehr erfahren Mehr erfahren

Personalities in portrait


Prof. Dr. Ottmar Edenhofer

Chief Economist and Deputy Director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Klaus Federn

Established the second institute for mechanical elements at the TU Berlin; Dialogue partner on nationalsocialism.

Prof. Dr. Ines Geipel

Author and Professor for the German Verse Language

Purna Kanungo

Chairman of the association „Freunde für Frieden“


Prof. Dr. Hans-Jürgen Krupp

i.a. member of the German Council of Economic Experts

Dr.-Ing. Kira Stein

Mechanical engineer, received the Cross of Merit in 2009

Christian Vogt

Oscar-winner; managing partner at M.A.D. Communications


More special personalities

Frank Rainer Asbeck Until 2009 director of the European Union Satellite Centre (Mathematics and Physics)
Dr. Morike
Damaro Camara
Until October 2012 Ministre de l'Education Supérieure et de la Recherche Scientifique in the government of the Republic Guinea (Mathematics)
Prof. Dr.
Ernst-Otto Czempiel
Co-founder and former chairman of the Peace Research Institute Frankfurt (PRIF), holder of the Federal Cross of Merit First Class (Cultural and Political Studies)
Dr. Kurt H.
Former director of the Kennedy Space Centre (Electrical Engineering)
Christopher Dell One of the most famous European vibraphonists (Philosophy)
Dr. Heneri Amos Murima Dzinotyiweyi Since 2009 Minister of Science and Technology/Zimbabwe (Mathematics)
Prof. Dr. Ottmar Edenhofer Deputy director and chief economist of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK) and co-chair of the working group III of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. Professor for Economics of Climate Change at the TU Berlin (Economics)
Dieter Gass Leader “Renneinsatz” at Audi Sport. Former chief for test and racing use Toyota/Formula One. (Electronic Constructions)
Prof. Dr. Ines Geipel Author and Professor for German Language (poetics) at the Ernst Busch Academy of Dramatic Arts. Co-founder of the “archive of suppressed literature in the GDR” (Philosophy and Sociology)
Dr. Andreas Georgi Former member of the board of the Dresdner Bank AG. Honorary professor at the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich (Business Engineering)
Elisabeth Heinemann “Science comedian” and speaker. She teaches at the University of Applied Sciences Worms “Mobile Computing”. (Business Informatics)
Purna Kanungo Chairman of the association “Friends for Peace”. He is committed to peace and understanding among nations for years (Electrical Engineering)
Dr. rer. pol. Hans-Joachim Klein As a world class swimmer he won one bronze and three silver medals at the Olympic Games 1964 in Tokyo. From 2001 to 2007 president of the German Olympic Society. District administrator of the district Darmstadt-Dieburg from 1985 to 1997 (Business Engineering)
Prof. Salomon Korn Honorary senator of the University Heidelberg. Since 2003 Vice president Central Council of Jews in Germany, received 2009 the Hessian Culture Prize (Architecture and Sociology)
Kaspar Kraemer President of the Association of German Architects for many years (Architecture)
Jean Krämer Krämer realized many buildings in Greater Berlin, some of them are under monumental construction today. He is the inventor of the traffic light tower in Berlin, † 1943 (Architecture)
Prof. Dr. Evelies Mayer Since 1972 she taught Sociology at the TH Darmstadt. Minister of State for Science and Arts in Hesse from 1991 to 1995 (Sociology)
Michael Meister Vice chairman of the CDU/CSU parliamentary group in the German Bundestag from 2003 to 2013. Since 2013 state secretary at the Federal Minister of Finance's office (Mathematics and Computer Science)
Helmut Meyer Director of the institute of Physical Education at the TH Darmstadt from 1960 to 1970, president of the German Athletics Association from 1989 to 1993. Recipient of the Federal Cross of Merit First Class
Dr. Michael Römer Former chairman of the managing board of Merck KGaA (Chemistry)
Prof. Dr. Bernhard Schlink Former research assistant at the TU Darmstadt, author (e.g. of “The Reader”). Former professor for public law and philosophy of law at the Humboldt University of Berlin (Laws)
Peter Cachola Schmal Executive director of the German Architecture Museum in Frankfurt (Architecture)
Paul Schneider-Esleben Architect of the postwar period. His most famous building is the Cologne Bonn Airport (Architecture)
Dr.-Ing. Gerd Simsch Member of the presidium “Deutsches Institut für Normung” (DIN) (Civil Engineering)
Prof. Dr. Udo Steffens Leader Frankfurt School of Finance & Management (Political Science)
Dr.-Ing. Kira Stein The first woman who graduated in mechanical engineering at TU Darmstadt. Kira Stein received the Cross of Merit for her commitment upporting the creative potential of women in scientific and technical professions in 2009. (Mechanical Engineering)
Prof. Dr. Georg Unland Finance Minister of the Free State of Saxony (Mechanical Engineering)
Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Klaus-Dieter Vöhringer Former chairman DaimlerChrysler AG (Mechanical Engineering)
Frank Weber Former vice president of the department strategical corporate and product planning/Opel and Vauxhall (Mechanical Engineering)
Prof. Dr. Klaus L. Wübbenhorst Former chairman of the Gesellschaft für Konsumforschung (GfK) (Business Engineering)
Dr. Peter Christian Zinkann Grandchild of the company founder Reinhard Zinkann and former member of the managemant of Miele & Cie. In 1999 he was inducted in th “Hall of Fame” of the Manager Magazin. He received the Federal Cross of Merit First Class in 2006 (Mechanical Engineering)