alumni personalities

Verbunden bleiben

Successfully connected to the TU for life

It is exciting to see how many figures of distinction TU Darmstadt has produced and continues to do so. They have made groundbreaking contributions to science and research, taken on significant political positions, had an impressive career in business or achieved fame in some other way. Here is a small selection:


Click on the images in order to switch between different items

Mehr erfahren Mehr erfahren Mehr erfahren Mehr erfahren Mehr erfahren

Scientists in portrait


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Christoph Breuer

Prorector at the German Sport University Cologne

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Li Guohao

Pioneer of the partnership betweenTU Darmstadt and Tongji

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Lamia Messari-Becker

Professorship of building technology and physics at the University of Siegen
and member of the Sachverständigenrat für Umweltfragen


More personalities from science

Prof. Dr. h.c. Max Bächer Honorary member of the Association of German Architects in Hesse. Until 1994 professor of interior design at the TH Darmstadt.
Jürgen Beetz Science writer, until 1995 chief lecturer at IBM Germany (Mathematics)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Eckhard Beyer Managing Director, Fraunhofer-Institut für Werkstoff- und Strahltechnik IWS
Prof. Dr. Michael Braungart Developer of the Cradle-to-Cradle design (eco-effectiveness) along with William McDonough. Teaches at the Erasmus University Rotterdam, manager of EPEA and scientific head of the “Umweltinstitut Hamburg” (Chemistry and Process Engineering)
Dr. phil. Nicole Deitelhoff is a member of the directorate and principal investigator at the cluster of excellence “The Formation of Normative Orders” at Goethe University Frankfurt/Main. (Economic Sciences and Engineering Management)
Prof. Dr. Cornelia Denz Professor of physics at the University of Münster. Professor of the Year 2012 in natural sciences/physics, competition “Unicum Beruf”. Director of the institute of applied physics (Physics)
Prof. Dr. Helmut Digel Professor at the
Institute of Sport Science at TU Darmstadt from 1985 to 2002, president of the German Athletics Association from 1993 to 2001, vice president of the National Olympic Committee from 1993 to 2002 (Sport Science)
Peter A. Frensch Vice president for research at the Humboldt University of Berlin and president of the German Society for Psychology (Electrical Engineering)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. mult. Ernst Dieter Gilles Founding director of the Institute for Dynamics of Complex Technical Systems, professor at the Institute of System Dynamics at the University of Stuttgart (Electrical Engineering)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. Lothar Göttsching Former professor of paper production who taught and did research at the TH Darmstadt for more than 40 years (Paper Engineering)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Eveline Gottzein First and only women who received the Werner-von-Siemens-Ring. Her fields of study are systems control, navigation and dynamics of mechanical systems. (Mathematics and Control Theory)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Moniko Greif Professor at the department of engineering at the RheinMain University of Applied Sciences. The department resulted from a merger of 5 departments and was significantly shaped by its founding dean Moniko Greif (Mechanical Engineering)
Prof. Dr. Peter Gruss President of the Max Planck Society from 2002 to 2014, received the Federal Cross of Merit in 2009 (Biology)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h. c. Theo Härder Professor of Computer Science at the Kaiserslautern University of Technology. From 1977 to 1980 he taught electrical engineering at TU Darmstadt
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Péter Horváth Controlling expert, co-founder of the scientific business discipline controlling, established in 1973 at the TH Darmstadt. At the Institute for Business Studies the first chair of controlling in Germany
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Andreas Hornung Director of the Institute Branch Sulzbach-Rosenberg of Fraunhofer UMSICHT since 1st of January 2013
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Anke Kaysser-Pyzalla Scientific director of the Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin for Materials and Energy. Furthermore she has the chair of Materials Analysis at the Ruhr University Bochum and holds some key positions in the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) (Mechanics)
Karla Szyszkowitz-Kowalski German architect and first female H4 professor in Germany (Architecture)
Prof. Hans-Jürgen Krupp Krupp was i.a. president of the German Institute of Economic Research and member of the German Council of Economic Experts (Business Engineering and Economics)
Prof. Dr. Katharina Landfester Director of the Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research in Mainz (Chemistry)
Prof. Dr. Hubert Markl Former president of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), former vice president of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and president of the Max Planck Society from 1996 to 2002. From 1968 to 1973 professor of Zoology at TU Darmstadt
Thomas H. Morszeck Director, Fraunhofer-Informationszentrum Raum und Bau (IRB)
Prof. Erwin Pesch Received the Copernicus Prize in 2012 for the German-Polish cooperation of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) and the Foundation for Polish Science. Professor of Business Informatics at the University of Siegen (Mathematics and Computer Science)
Andreas Penirschke Professor for high frequency and ultra high frequency technology at the Mittelhessen University of Applied Sciences (Electrical Engineering)
Prof. Dr. Carl Adam Petri Mathematician and Professor of Computer Science at the TU Darmstadt, inventor of petri nets (Mathematics)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefanie Reese Head of the chair and the Institute of Applied Mechanics at the RWTH Aachen University (Mechanics)
Manfred Weisensee Professor for Cartography and Geoinformatics, since 2015 president of the Jade University of Applied Sciences (Geodesy)
apl. Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Anette Weisbecker Deputy Director, Fraunhofer IAO and IAT University of Stuttgart
Prof. Dr. Johann Dietrich Wörner President of the TU Darmstadt from 1995 to 2007. Then chairman of the German Aerospace Centre. Since 2015 Director General of the European Space Agency – ESA. (Civil Engineering)