Structured Doctoral Programmes

Structured Doctoral Programmes at TU Darmstadt

TU Darmstadt offers structured doctoral programmes in a variety of research areas and with different key topics. Currently, there are two Graduate Schools and seven DFG Research Training Groups.

Graduate Schools in the framework of the German Excellence Initiative

Title Coordinator Contact
Darmstadt Graduate School of Energy Science and Engineering Prof. Dr. Johannes Janicka,
Prof. Dr. Wolfram Jaegermann
Dr. Tanja Drobek
Graduate School Computational Engineering – Beyond Traditional Sciences Prof. Dr. Michael Schäfer Dr.-Ing. Melanie Gattermayer

Research Training Groups at TU Darmstadt

Number Title Coordinator
2222 KRITIS – Kritische Infrastrukturen. Konstruktion, Funktionskrisen und Schutz in Städten Prof. Dr. Ivo Engels
Modern and Contemporary History
Department of History and Social Sciences
Prof. Dr. Jochen Monstadt
Spatial and Infrastructure Planning
Department of Architecture
2128 Accelerator Science and Technology for Energy Recovery Linacs Prof. Dr. Norbert Pietralla
Institut for Nuclear Physics
Department of Physics
2050 Privacy and Trust for Mobile Users Prof. Dr. Max Mühlhäuser
Research Group Telecooperation
Department of Computer Science
1994 Adaptive Preparation of Information from Heterogeneous Sources Prof. Dr. Iryna Gurevych
Ubiquitous Knowledge Processing Lab
Department of Computer Science
Other department involved: Electrical Engineering and Information Technology
1657 Molecular and cellular responses to ionizing radiation Prof. Dr. Gerhard Thiel
Institute for Botany
Prof. Dr. Markus Löbrich
Institute for Zoology
Department of Biology
Other departments involved: Physics, Chemistry
1529 Mathematical Fluid Dynamics
International Research Training Group
Professor Dr. Matthias Hieber
Working group on Analysis
Department of Mathematics
International Partners: University of Tokyo, Waseda University, Japan
1362 Cooperative, Adaptive and Responsive Monitoring in Mixed Environments Prof. Dr. Oskar von Stryk
Research Group on Simulation, System Optimisation and Robotics
Department of Computer Science
Other departments involved: Electrical Engineering and Information Technology, Mechanical Engineering
1344 Unsteady System Modelling of Aircraft Engines Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johannes Janicka
Research Group on Energy and Power Plant Engineering
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Other department involved: Mathematics
1343 Topology of Technology Prof. Dr. phil. Petra Gehring
Institute for Philosophy
Department of History and Social Sciences
Other departments involved: Mechanical Engineering, Computer Science, Civil Engineering, Humanities