Be Careful! Phishing about alleged cancellation of your e-mail box

Do not click the embedded link. Delete the message.

2022/11/28

Currently, phishing emails are circulating in which scammers claim that you have requested the closing of your mailbox. Now you are supposed to follow a link if this request should be cancelled. Do not click on the link under any circumstances. This is where scammers try to steal your data.

The e-mails are written in German and have the following or other similar content:

Liebe Mailnutzer,

Aus unseren Aufzeichnungen geht hervor, dass Sie kürzlich eine Anfrage zum Abschalten Ihres E-Mail-Kontos gestellt haben und diese Anfrage in Kürze bearbeitet wird.

Wenn diese Anfrage versehentlich gestellt wurde und Sie sich dessen nicht bewusst sind, sollten Sie die Anfrage jetzt stornieren.Klicken Sie auf “Deaktivierung aufheben und neu verbinden”, um ein automatisches Herunterfahren zu vermeidenWenn Sie diese Anfrage jedoch nicht stornieren, wird Ihr Konto innerhalb der nächsten 2 Stunden geschlossen und alle Ihre E-Mail-Daten gehen dauerhaft verloren.

Systemadministrator,
Verbunden mit Microsoft Exchange.
© 2022 Alle Rechte vorbehalten Microsoft Corporation.

When such short deadlines for action are set, you should always be alert and assume a scam attempt. Do not click on the embedded link. Delete the message.

Also, pay close attention to the sender of such mails. Then you will easily recognize that it is not a genuine mail from Microsoft or the HRZ.

Get to know more about phishing under:
https://www.tu-darmstadt.de/it-sicherheit/phishing