

We are looking for the best ideas and approaches to attract:

- Female students to STEM subjects
- Female scientists to academic career paths, professorships and leadership positions

What concepts, measures, projects, best practice models and ideas support cultural change towards a gender-equal university? The Franziska Braun Prize highlights and honours innovative approaches in the field of gender equality. Innovative ideas are made visible and honoured, while financial resources to enhance and continue existing projects are awarded. Nominations for this Prize can refer to concepts, measures, projects, processes or other equality-enhancing approaches that have already been launched, or to concrete new ideas and project plans. Projects already receiving funding must demonstrate how the application differs and goes beyond the current project.

Proposals can relate to all qualification levels ('from female students to female professors'). Individual characteristics that lead to inequalities and disadvantages encompass a variety of factors that can overlap, so consideration of other aspects of diversity is expressly welcomed.

The Franziska Braun Prize is awarded to organisational units, e.g. departments, institutes, but also central services or groups of people working closely with teaching and research, e.g. student initiatives, joint projects, research groups, equality teams in the departments and central services. All members and institutions of TU Darmstadt are eligible to submit proposals. Organisational units and groups of individuals may nominate themselves.

Application deadline and application

The deadline for submitting applications is October 15, 2025. Applications should be 3-5 pages long and describe the project's objectives, planned measures, budget plan and planned use of the prize money.

Criteria for awarding the Franziska Braun Prize Quality of the idea

How well thought out and differentiated is the idea?

Quality of implementation or feasibility

Is the planned implementation described in a comprehensible manner?

Resonance or success/prospects of success

Are there already experiences or assumptions regarding the resonance?

Transferability

Can the concept be transferred to other areas?

Schedule 2025 - 2026

July 1, 2025: Call for nominations

October 15, 2025: Submission deadline November 2025: Pre-selection of projects February 2026: Presentation at the Advisory

Council's meeting

Summer 2026: Award ceremony

Please submitt your application by October 15, 2025

gleichstellungsbeauftragte@zv.tu-darmstadt.de

If you have any questions about the application process or the call for nominations, please contact the Gender Equality Office at:

marion.klenk@tu-darmstadt.de

WE ARE LOOKING FORWARD TO YOUR NOMINATIONS!

Award procedure

The winner of the Franziska Braun Prize is chosen by the Advisory Council on Research-oriented Equality of Opportunity of TU Darmstadt. The prize is usually announced and awarded every two years. The decision is made in a two-tier application procedure. Based on the applications, the Advisory Council will decide in its November 2025 meeting which projects will be invited to give a presentation. The project presentation will take place in February 2026. The Prize will be awarded at the end of the summer semester 2026.

Amount, allocation and use of prize money

By a resolution of the Carlo und Karin Giersch-Stiftung, the Franziska Braun Prize is endowed with EUR 25,000 and is generally awarded in full as a single prize. The Prize is allotted to the prize-winning organisational unit or group and can be spent freely in connection with the awarded project.

25,000 EUROS FOR GENDER EQUALITY INITIATIVES

Presentation of the Prize

The Prize comes with a certificate in addition to the prize money. The Prize is presented at TU Darmstadt during a ceremony by the President of TU Darmstadt and the Carlo und Karin Giersch-Stiftung. Increasing the visibility of the awarded project is an important goal of this Prize. Hence, public relations plays a central role during the presentation of the Prize.

(Overview of previous award winners)