"Konferenz Hessischer Universitätspräsidien"

The five universities of the Federal State of Hessen have joined forces in the "Konferenz Hessischer Universitätspräsidien" (KHU). The Executive Boards of Technical University of Darmstadt, Goethe University Frankfurt, Justus Liebig University Giessen, University of Kassel and Philipps University Marburg meet on a regular basis.

The universities organised in the KHU jointly comment on current developments in higher education policy, especially in the State of Hessen, but also on education and research policy challenges at national and European level. The aim is to secure and expand the competitiveness of the five universities in Hessen.

The five universitis: facts and figures


  • 149.000 students
  • 40.400 students in first subject-related semester
  • 22.200 graduates in 2019
  • 2.000 professorships
  • 607 million euros of third-party funding in 2019
  • 30 DFG Collaborative Research Centres


Prof. Dr. Tanja Brühl, Präsidentin der Technischen Universität Darmstadt
Picture: Katrin Binner

Prof. Dr. Tanja Brühl

President of Technical University of Darmstadt

Learn more

Prof. Dr. Enrico Schleiff

President of Goethe University Frankfurt

Learn more

Picture: Jonas Ratermann

Prof. Dr. Joybrato Mukherjee

President of Giessen University

Learn more

Prof. Dr. Ute Clement, Präsidentin der Universität Kassel
Picture: Sonja Rode

Prof. Dr. Ute Clement

President of University of Kassel

Learn more

Porträtbild von Prof. Thomas Nauss
Picture: Henrik Isenberg

Prof. Dr. Thomas Nauss

President of Philipps-Universität Marburg

Learn more