Student Body

Bild: Paul Glogowski
Picture: Paul Glogowski

Departmental Students` Representative Committee

The students of each department form the Departmental Students` Representative Committee. Student Representatives (departmental) are their elected representatives, and are officially elected in conjunction with university elections. Departmental Students' Representative Committee (“Fachschaften”) delegate their representatives to the administrative bodies, Departmental Councils, and the Student Representative Conference.

Departmental Students` Representative Committee at TU Darmstadt


Student Representative Conference

The Student Representative Conference (“Fachschaftenkonferenz” (FSK)”) consists of all delegates from all of the TU’s Departmental Students` Representative Committee and meets on a roughly monthly basis at one of the Departmental Students` Representative Committee offices to discuss current topics affecting one or more departments and pick up tips from the others present. Its objective is improving communications among the Departmental Students` Representative Committee and exchanging information.


Student Parliament

The TU-Darmstadt’s Student Parliament (“Studierenden-Parliament” (StuPa)) is the student body’s highest organ on campus and consists of 31 representatives elected at the end of every spring semester. Among other things, it is responsible for electing and recalling members of the Students' Union (Executive Committee) and managing the student body’s budget, and holds monthly meetings during the lecture periods of every semester.


Students' Union (Executive Committee)

The Students' Union (Executive Committee) (“Allgemeine Studierendenausschuss” (AStA)) is effectively the executive branch of the TU’s student self-administration. AStA student advisor are elected by the Student Parliament at the start of every semester. According to § 96 of the “Hessisches Hochschulgesetz,” the tasks of the Students' Union (Executive Committee) are:

  • representing students’ interests,
  • representing students’ interests in matters related to educational policies,
  • representing students’ economic and social interests,
  • maintaining national and international student relations,
  • promoting students’ political education and senses of civil responsibility,
  • supporting students’ cultural and musical interests, and
  • promoting voluntary participation in student sports activities, other than those for which the university is responsible.