Dissertation Award of the Joint working group synthetic biology (GFGSB) goes to Dr. Christoph Diehl

First Dissertation Award for Synthetic Biology

2023/03/20 by

Dr. Christoph Diehl from the Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology in Marburg is the first winner of the Dissertation Award for Synthetic Biology. The award was presented during the International Synthetic Biology Workshop on 20 – 22 March 2023 at the Centre for Synthetic Biology in Darmstadt.

Prof. Dr. Heinz Koeppl gratuliert dem Preisträger

The GFGSB speaker Prof. Dr. Matias Zurbriggen (University of Düsseldorf) and Prof. Dr. Beatrix Suess (TU Darmstadt) as deputy speaker presented the award together to Dr. Christoph Diehl. In his doctoral thesis at the Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology, he researched the optimisation of the CETCH cycle. This artificial metabolic pathway for the efficient binding and conversion of CO2 was developed in the Department of “Biochemistry and Synthetic Metabolism” led by Prof. Dr. Tobias Erb. Using the CETCH cycle as an example, Dr. Christoph Diehl showed how such networks can be optimised using machine learning approaches, expanded in a modular way and operated flexibly by realising synthetic reaction sequences.

The joint working group synthetic biology is composed of members of DBG (German Botanical Society), DECHEMA (Society for Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology), GBM (Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) and GDCh (German Chemical Society) and endowed with 500 € prize money, which was donated by Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Deigner (Furtwangen University).