Honorary Senators

Honorary Senators

TU Darmstadt Honours and Awards

The title of Honorary Senator recognises special services for and in support of TU Darmstadt. These include strengthening TU’s reputation as well as significant support for TU. An honorary senatorship cannot be conferred on TU members. Individual university members or groups can ask for the title to be conferred. It is awarded in the context of an academic ceremony following a Senate vote.


2000 until now

Name Title Awarded
Messer, Stefan   08.07.2011
Ruths, Harald Dr. med. 08.07.2011
GAO, Tingyao Prof. 06.10.2010
Spranger, Hans-Joachim Dr. 01.12.2009
Raffler, Hartmut Dr.h.c. 17.01.2007
Görtz, Horst   29.04.2002
Stockburger, Albrecht Rechtsanwalt u. Notar 22.06.2001
Hechler, Hermann Dipl.-Ing. 24.01.2001
Dutiné, Gottfried Dr.-Ing. 19.01.2001

1980 until 1999

1960 until 1979

1950 until 1959

1920 until 1949


All names, from A to Z