Scientific Prizes and Awards

Scientific Prizes and Awards

Scientific prizes and awards are presented, on the one hand, nationwide across Germany by major research funding organisations, while, on the other hand, benefactors and donators, companies and associations also specifically award prizes to scientists or graduates at TU Darmstadt.

Prizes and Awards offered by major German Research Funding Organisations

The candidates for highly renowned research prizes and awards of major German research funding organisations are generally nominated by the universities. The Scientific Advisory Council supports the Executive Board of TU Darmstadt during the process of selecting suitable candidates. A summary and information on these research prizes and awards can be found below.

Academy Prize

Alfried Krupp Sponsorship Award for Young Professors

Bertha Benz Prize for Female Engineers

Carl Friedrich von Weizsäcker Prize

Communicator Award – Scientific Award of the Stifterverband

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize

Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize

Karl Heinz Beckurts Prize

Max Planck Research Award


Research Awards and Prizes at TU Darmstadt

Benefactors and donators, companies and associations regularly present research awards and prizes at TU Darmstadt. They honour special achievements by scientists and researchers or students and graduates of the university.


Awards and Prizes for Scientists

Adolf Messer Prize

The Adolf Messer Prize is awarded annually to early career researchers in possession of a doctoral degree with outstanding achievements in the fields of natural sciences, engineering sciences and economic sciences, social sciences and the humanities. It is endowed with €50,000. go

Kurt-Ruths Prize

The Kurt-Ruths Prize is awarded annually for outstanding scientific theses in the fields of architecture, civil engineering and geodesy or chemistry. It is endowed with €20,000. go


Multidisciplinary Awards and Prizes for Students/Graduates