Achievements in the State of Hesse's LOEWE Programme


State initiative for the development of scientific and economic excellence

Picture: Katrin Binner – © Katrin Binner
Picture: Katrin Binner

The research funding programme LOEWE (state initiative for the development of scientific and economic excellence) is the excellence programme of the state of Hesse. Six LOEWE research clusters can be found at TU Darmstadt. In addition to this, researchers from the TU are involved in two other research clusters.

The LOEWE research funding programme (State Offensive for the Development of Scientific and Economic Excellence) is the excellence programme run by the German State of Hesse. The aim of the LOEWE programme is to support differentiation and profile building between the research institutions in Hesse and to increase their national and international competitiveness through better networking and targeted strengthening of already existing research expertise. Furthermore, the objective is to utilise the innovative strength of the research institutions for developing the Hessian economy. The LOEWE funding is provided as initial project financing and is designed to help the research institutions in Hesse to apply for third-party funds on a larger scale and to successfully participate in major national and international collaborative projects.

LOEWE offers three funding lines (research centres, research clusters, SME projects). Calls for proposals are launched regarding the institutional programme lines (research centres, research clusters) – on an annual basis for research clusters and on an irregular basis for research centres.

You can find out more information about the LOEWE programme and the three funding lines on the website of the Hessen State Ministry of Higher Education, Research and the Arts. As the number of applications per university is limited, the two-stage application process is subject to a preceding selection process within the university.

You will find an overview of projects funded by the LOEWE programme that were applied for by scientists at TU Darmstadt below. The LOEWE Research Centres are generally operated together with non-university research institutes and/or other universities.


LOEWE research clusters at TU Darmstadt

Title Coordinator
Software-Factory 4.0 (SF 4.0) Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heiko Mantel (Fachbereich Informatik)
Uniformisierte Strukturen in Arithmetik und Geometrie Prof. Dr. Jan-Hendrik Bruinier (Fachbereich Mathematik)
BAMP! – Bauen mit Papier
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Samuel Schabel (Fachbereich Maschinenbau)
CompuGene – Computer-gestützte Verfahren zur Generierung komplexer genetischer Schaltkreise Prof. Dr. Beatrix Süß (Fachbereich Biologie), Prof. Dr. Heinz Koeppl (Fachbereich Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik)
iNAPO – Ionenleitenden Nanoporen Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Ensinger (Materialwissenschaften), Prof. Dr. Bodo Laube (Biologie)
NiCER – Vernetzte infrastrukturlose Kooperation zur Krisenbewältigung Prof. Dr.-Ing. Matthias Hollick (Fachbereich Informatik)

Participations of TU Darmstadt in other LOEWE research clusters

Title Coordinator
Infrastruktur – Design – Gesellschaft (Designforschung in Mobilitätssystemen zur Entwicklung multimodaler, umweltfreundlicher Mobilität im Ballungsraum Rhein-Main) Hochschule für Gestaltung
Ansprechpartner an der TU Darmstadt. Prof. Dr. Annette Rudolph-Cleff (Fachbereich Architektur)
Allegro (Hochleistungskomponenten aus Aluminiumlegierungen durch ressourcenoptimierte Prozesstechnologien) Universität Kassel
Ansprechpartner an der TU Darmstadt: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Groche (Fachbereich Maschinenbau)

Completed Projects


Directions for applicants (in German)

Please contact the Directorate for Research and Technology Transfer if you are planning to submit an application.