Scholars at Risk

Solidarity with at risk students and researchers

Worldwide, scientists are facing threats and restrictions in their academic work because of their research and ideas. These limitations range from travel restrictions and unjustified dismissals to imprisonment and violence.

The International Scholars at Risk (SAR) Network is a worldwide association of over 500 universities, research institutions and other scientific organizations dedicated to helping threatend researchers and promoting scientific freedom.

Technical University of Darmstadt is a founding member of the German section of the Scholars at Risk Network (SAR Germany Section).

The aim of this alliance is to ensure an exchange of experience and knowledge on the situation of at risk researchers in Germany and to provide support and protection at the member institutions.

Learn more

SAR Germany-Section,
Founding Statement

"In joining Scholars at Risk, German academic leadership, faculty, students and staff send a strong message of solidarity with scholars and universities in situations where academic freedom is restricted and research, publication, teaching and learning are repressed".

Philipp Schwartz-Initiative of the Alexander von Humboldt-Foundation

Picture: Felipe Fernandes

Funding of research projects by threatend researchers

The Philipp Schwartz Initiative gives universities and research institutions in Germany the opportunity to host at risk researchers for 24 months as part of a full fellowship.

For specific concerns and questions about funding opportunities at TU Darmstadt, please contact us.

Further information can be found on the website of the Philipp Schwartz Initiative.

The Philipp Schwartz Initiative was founded by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation together with the Federal Foreign Office and enables universities, universities of applied sciences and non-university research institutions in Germany to grant fellowships for research stays to threatened researchers.

This initiative is financed by the Federal Foreign Office, the Alfred Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach Foundation, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the Fritz Thyssen Foundation, the Gerda Henkel Foundation, the Klaus Tschira Foundation, the Robert Bosch Foundation, the Stifterverband and the Mercator Foundation.