Location Lichtwiese (L)

The Lichtwiese campus on the southeastern outskirts of Darmstadt was built in the 1960s and is home to science and engineering departments. It is divided into six sections L1-L6.

Site map

Buildings / Users / Facilities

L1|01 Mechanical Engineering Institutes
Otto-Berndt-Straße 2
University Computing Centre (HRZ)
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Institute for Transport

L1|02 Mechanical Engineering Hall 1, U-Station Mechanical Engineering
Jovanka-Bontschits-Straße 3

L1|03 Mechanical Engineering Hall 5
Jovanka-Bontschits-Straße 9

L1|04 Mechanical Engineering Hall 4 (test bench)
Jovanka-Bontschits-Straße 11

L1|05 Mechanical Engineering Hall 3
Ottilie-Bock-Straße 6

L1|06 Mechanical Engineering Hall 2
Ottilie-Bock-Straße 2

L1|07 Mechanical Engineering Hall 6, Collaborative Research Centre 666, Process Learning Factory
Jovanka-Bontschits-Straße 10

Buildings L1|02 to L1|07 in use by Department of Mechanical Engineering

L1|09 CO2 pilot plant
Ottilie-Bock-Straße 4
Department of Mechanical Engineering, Institute EST

L1|10 Gerhard-Pahl-Centre (Learning Centre Mechanical Engineering)
Jovanka-Bontschits-Straße 7
Department of Mechanical Engineering

L1|12 Vehicle Hall
Ottilie-Bock-Straße 2A
Department of Mechanical Engineering, Institute VKM

L1|13 Machine Acoustics Hall SAM
Jovanka-Bontschits-Straße 1
Department of Mechanical Engineering

L2|01 Materials Science
Alarich-Weiss-Straße 2
Department of Materials- and Geosciences
Learning Centre for Materials Science

L2|02 Organic Chemistry
Alarich-Weiss-Straße 4
Learning Centre Chemistry
Tutoring Centre Chemistry
Departmental Student Body and Representative Committee Chemistry

L2|03 Chemistry Lecture Room Building
Alarich-Weiss-Straße 6
Lecture rooms

L2|04 Physical Chemistry
Alarich-Weiss-Straße 8
Department of Chemistry

all the above buildings in use by Department of Chemistry

L2|05 Inorganic Chemistry
Alarich-Weiss-Straße 12
JuniorLabor (Student laboratory in cooperation with the company Merck)
Department of Chemistry

L2|06 Centre of Smart Interfaces (CSI)
Alarich-Weiss-Straße 10
Department of Mathematics: Analysis
Department of Chemistry: Physical Chemistry
Department of Materials- and Geosciences: Physics of Surfaces
Department of Mechanical Engineering:
Profile area Thermo-Fluids & Interfaces
Fluid Mechanics and Aerodynamics
Technical Thermodynamics
Staff Council Research Infrastructures

L2|07 M³ Laboratory Building
Alarich-Weiss-Straße 16
NMR Centre
Department of Materials- and Geosciences:
Functional Materials
Physics of Surfaces

L2|50 Post Office Lichtwiese
Alarich-Weiss-Straße 4
Directorate IV

L2|66 Disposal Centre
Alarich-Weiss-Straße 14
Directorate IV

L4|01 Canteen Lichtwiese
Alarich-Weiss-Straße 3
Delivery address: Franziska-Braun-Straße 9
Parent-child room

L4|02 Lecture Hall and Library Building (Hörsaal – und Medienzentrum, HMZ)
Franziska-Braun-Straße 10
Lecture rooms, learning rooms, seminar rooms
University and State Library (ULB Lichtwiese)
Cafeteria LichtBAR, Paper Shop

L5|01 Civil Engineering Institute Building 1
Franziska-Braun-Straße 7

Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Department of Mechanical Engineering, Institute of Structural Mechanics
Department of Mechanics

Buildings L5|02-L5|07 and L5|09 are used by the
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

L5|02 Civil Engineering hall 1
Günter-Behnisch-Straße 14

L5|03 Civil Engineering hall 4
Günter-Behnisch-Straße 12

L5|04 Civil Engineering hall 3
Günter-Behnisch-Straße 10

L5|05 Civil Engineering hall 2
Günter-Behnisch-Straße 8

L5|06 Civil Engineering Institute Building 2
Franziska-Braun-Straße 3

L5|07 Civil Engineering hall 5
Franziska-Braun-Straße 5

L5|08 High Performance Computer
Günter-Behnisch-Straße 4
University Computing Centre (HRZ)

L5|09 Glass Competence Centre (GCC)
Günter-Behnisch-Straße 6

L5|60 Recycling Centre
Günter-Behnisch-Straße 2
Directorate IV


L6|01 Research Building 1 (SI-Building)
Attention: Change of building name from 01.08.2021, old building name L1|08
Otto-Berndt-Straße 3
Department of Materials- and Geosciences:
Dispersive Solids
Materials Modelling
Mechanics of Functional Materials
Molecular Nanostructures
Surface Science
Department of Mechanical Engineering:
Energy and Power Plant Technology
Reactive Flows and Diagnostics, RSM
Energy Centre
Graduate School of Energy Science and Engineering

L6|03 ETA Factory
Attention: Change of building name from 01.08.2021, old building name L1|11
Eugen-Kogon-Straße 4
Department of Mechanical Engineering, Institute PTW