Unceasing curiosity, interdisciplinary cooperation, close networking with partners, focus on relevant topics of the future and intensive transfer of results into practice – all this shapes the research competence of TU Darmstadt. At the heart of everything are outstanding scientists. They contribute their creativity and get together in new collaborations in a facts-oriented, fast and uncomplicated way. They are united by a desire to conduct research at the highest level.

Excellent minds – some of many

Porträtbild von Prof. Dr. Gabriel Martínez-Pinedo
Picture: Gabi Otto, GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung

Prof. Dr. Gabriel Martínez-Pinedo

Professor Gabriel Martínez-Pinedo has been awarded a Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize 2022 by the German Research Foundation (DFG), the most prestigious German research prize. The scientist is working at the interface of the fields of astro, nuclear and neutrino physics.

Learn more

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz laureates at TU Darmstadt

  • Professor Dr. Gabriel Martínez-Pinedo (2022)
  • Professor Dr. Andreas Dreizler (2014)
  • Professor Dr. Jürgen Rödel (2009)
  • Professor Dr. Thomas Weiland (1998)
  • Professor Dr. Johannes Buchmann (1993)
  • Professor Dr. Bernd Giese (1987)
  • Professor Dr. Frank Steglich (1986)
  • Ulrike Kramm (2020)
  • Michael Saliba (2020)
  • Eric Bodden (2014)
  • Stefan Roth (2012)
  • Christina Thiele (2010)
  • Torsten Granzow (2008)
  • Nicole Deitelhoff (2008)
  • Marc Alexa (2003)
Picture: Sandra Junker

Prof. Dr. Alexandre Obertelli

First Alexander von Humboldt Professorship for TU and the State of Hesse: The nuclear physicist Alexandre Obertelli is one of the foreign scientists selected for Germany's highest endowed international research prize.

Learn more

Picture: Katrin Binner

Prof. Dr. Andreas Dreizler

The professor of mechanical engineering was awarded the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize 2014 of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation), together with prize money of 1.25 million euros. Dreizler has succeeded in making a number of important experimental contributions to the quantitative characterisation of turbulent combustion processes.

Learn more

Picture: Felipe Fernandes

Prof. Dr. Annette Andrieu-Brunsen

ERC Starting Grant – Annette Andrieu-Brunsen was awarded a European Research Council (ERC) Starting Grant of 1.5 million euros. The project “3D-FNP Writing” deals with the transport of substances through nanopores and thus addresses a key step for many technologies.

Learn more

Professor Stefan Roth. Bild: Katrin Binner
Picture: Katrin Binner

Prof. Stefan Roth, Ph.D.

ERC Consolidator Grant – Prof. Roth's research is supported with around two million euros over five years. The goal is to develop methods that make artificial neural networks in computer vision, particularly so-called deep networks, more robust and more explainable.

Learn more

Picture: Katrin Binner

Prof. Dr. Oliver Gutfleisch

ERC Advanced Grant – The ERC recognised the outstanding research at TU Darmstadt on the substitution of critical raw and processed materials for energy technologies and honoured professor Oliver Gutfleisch with an ERC Advanced Grant. The funding over a period of five years amounts to 2.5 million euros.

Learn more

Picture: Sandra Junker

Prof. Dr. Heinz Koeppl

ERC Consolidator Grant – Two million euros in funding for synthetic biology at TU Darmstadt: The European Research Council awarded Heinz Koeppl an ERC Consolidator Grant and funds him over a period of five years.

Learn more

Prof. Dr. Mikael Hård

ERC Advanced Grant – Prestigious European award for history professor Mikael Hård: The European Research Council (ERC) honoured Hård with an ERC Advanced Grant for the project “Global History of Technology from 1850-2000”.

Learn more

Prof. Dr. Almudena Arcones

ERC Starting Grant – New calculations about the formation of elements in stars: Almudena Arcones, assistant professor of physics at TU Darmstadt since 2012, received a grant of 1.5 million euros from the European Research Council.

Learn more

Dr. Leopoldo Molina-Luna

ERC Starting Grant – The project “FOXON” by Dr Leopoldo Molina-Luna deals with transmission electron microscopy (TEM). The European Research Council supports the researcher with an ERC Starting Grant and a grant of 1.8 million euros.

Learn more