Specific Sponsors at TU Darmstadt

Fritz and Margot Faudi Foundation

For almost 40 years now, the Fritz and Margot Faudi Foundation at the TU Darmstadt has been promoting research on global challenges in the areas of energy and the environment. The foundation has provided financial support to more than 70 research projects on methods to preserve the cleanliness of soil, air and water, to develop environmentally friendly production methods (integrated environmental protections) as well as on the development of environmentally friendly energies at the TU Darmstadt. Six projects are currently being supported for three years, each for up to 100,000 euros.

Carlo and Karin Giersch Foundation

The Carlo und Karin Giersch Foundation was established at the TU Darmstadt in 1990 by Frankfurt industrialist Professor Carlo Giersch and his wife Karin. In June 2007 the Giersches donated equal shares in an office building in Darmstadt to the Carlo and Karin Giersch Foundation at the TU and the Giersch Foundation in Frankfurt. The property is valued at 14 million euros.

Beyond its generous support, the Carlo und Karin Giersch Foundation also awards its annual E-Teaching Award. The prizes bring with them stipends of 12,000 euro in total. 2009 winners: Prof. Helmut F. Schlaak (Dr.-Ing), Felix Greiner (Dipl.-Ing.) and Dr. Guido Rößling

In 2010, the Carlo and Karin Giersch Foundation will be awarding its first Athene Prize for Good Teaching at the TU Darmstadt. The prize brings with it 40,000 euros in total, and is intended as an annual distinction for persons, groups of persons or organizational units from all departments.

Starting in 2011 the Carlo and Karin Giersch Foundation will be awarding a bi-annual Gender Equality Prize. The prize brings with it 25,000 euros to support best practice models for the recruiting of women in and for research and teaching at the TU Darmstadt.

For their long and exemplary philanthropic activity, the Giersch family was awarded the German Philanthropic Foundation Prize 2009.

Dr. Hans Messer Foundation

The Dr. Hans Messer Foundation has been awarding its annual prize to young scientists at the TU Darmstadt since 1994. The prize (50,000 euros) serves to promote outstanding achievements in the areas of natural science, medicine, engineering and economics/social sciences.

Kurt Ruths Prize

The 20,000 euro Kurt Ruths Prize is awarded annually by the Ruths family of Cologne and the Ruths-Tillian family of Vienna in memory of the service performed by the former chairman of the board at the Braas Group, Kurt Ruths. It is oriented toward students in the departments of Architecture, Civil Engineering and Chemistry at the TU Darmstadt. 2011 winner: Mieke Pfarr, architecture.

Heinrich and Margarete Liebig Award

In memory of the company founders, Heinrich and Margarete Liebig, the companies of Liebig Gruppe Pfungstadt decided to award a prize to students with excellent achievements in order to promote research and teaching at Technical University of Darmstadt. In the fields of civil engineering, electrical engineering and mechanical engineering, the prize aims to encourage young people to choose a degree at one of these departments.

The Liebig Award is intended to reward an outstanding master’s or Diplom thesis in the above-mentioned fields. Women are expressly invited to participate and should be taken into appropriate consideration.

Karl and Marie Schack Foundation

The Karl and Marie Schack Foundation donated 50,000 euros in 2007 for the purchase of a high-resolution atomic force microscope for the working group lead by Professor Jörg J. Schneider (Centre for Inorganic Chemistry). The foundation promotes natural and engineering sciences at the TU Darmstadt “which possess a high degree of trustworthiness and have always enjoyed a first-class reputation,” Robert Schack emphasises. He studied civil engineering at the TH Darmstadt from 1960 to 1965.

Erich Becker Foundation

The Erich-Becker-Stiftung was founded in 1986 by the Flughafen Frankfurt/Main AG – today known as Fraport AG – on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of Frankfurt airport. The foundation promotes scientific work in the area of air traffic. The foundation also announces its foundation prize, including 15,000 euros in winnings, at irregular intervals.

Wiechers Foundation Cities for People

The Cities for People Foundation was founded in 2005 in Bad Vilbel by Rüdiger Wiechers. It promotes projects at the TU Darmstadt in the areas of residential and urban architecture as well as urban planning. It puts a special focus on cultural, economic, ecological and social aspects.